Qiang has a population of 310,000 and mainly live in Mao County, Wenchuan County, Li County, Aba Tibet Autonomous Prefecture and Beichuan Qiang Autonomous County. They have oral language only which belong to Qiang branch, Tibetan-Burmese group of Chinese-Tibetan language family.

    Qiang people worship their ancestors as well as gods. White stone is supreme token of their worship. Qiang engages in agriculture, animal husbandry and sheep-raising. They have unique history and experience in medicine. Their unique blockhouses are well known by other parts of the world.

    The traditional festivals of Qiang include Mountain Worship Festival, Qiangnian Festivall and Dragon Boat Festival. The red color is profound interest and regarded as mascot of luck.

    Hanging red is their supreme protocol and is known as a tradition of red esteem.

The Museum

    The Qiang Museum is the exact replica of the traditional dwelling in Mao County, Wenchuan District, Sichuan. It was built by local craftsmen according to local customs and finished in Beijing.

    The museum comprises four household-connected residential blockhouse, Qiong cage, mountain worship tower, goddess of mercy temple, crop drying stand, mountain road and the cable bridge.

    The buildings constructed an integrated stone village. All the exhibits hereby presented are replicated in the same dimension and arranged according to traditional manners of production and living. All of them are collected from Wenchuan district and can be dated back to Qing Dynasty, about three hundred years ago.

    It covers a ground area of 2750 square meters and gross area of 1171 square meters. The building work was started in 1993 and the museum was open to the public in June 1994.